Lab Accreditation

Australia leads the world in laboratory accreditation.

All pathology laboratories in Australia receiving funding via Medicare must be accreditated by the National Association of Testing Authorities (NATA)/RCPA Laboratory Accreditation Program.

The Standards are set by the National Pathology Accreditation Advisory Council (NPAAC). The Standards are based on the international standard ISO 15189 Standard for Medical Laboratories.

In New Zealand laboratories are accredited via IANZ using the same ISO 15189 as their basis.

Queries about NATA/RCPA requirements for accreditation can be addressed to:

Page last updated:

Copyright © 2022 RCPA. All rights reserved.